Thread: Using SimulationCraft

Character
    Moshne
    Server
    Whisperwind
    Region
    US

Using SimulationCraft

SimCraft is a deceptively simple program that seems to frustrate a lot of people trying to use it. Some of the problems range from the inability to get it to work at all, to getting extremely unreliable results because of using it incorrectly.

All of this assumes you have downloaded the GUI version of SimCraft and are using it. While the command line version works just fine, this is aimed at the more lay user. The current release version is available from: http://code.google.com/p/simulationcraft/downloads/list

Also, I am not a developer of SimC, just a fan. While I'm happy to help with basic troubleshooting (via PM), any bugs should be reported to: http://code.google.com/p/simulationcraft/issues/list

The Basics: This will take your current character and generate an output of your theoretical optimal output based on the default rotation in SimC.
    • 1. Open Simulationcraft.exe
      2. Go to the Import Tab, the default should be Battle.net, if that is not selected, go to it. Type in your characters name in the browser that pops up and find your character in the drop down list.
      3. Wait till the load bar in the bottom right of the screen is at 100%, then click import.
      [Note: this will import your character exactly, make sure you are in the correct gear/spec if you want accurate results.]
      4. This will generate a large text output, for basic users you can ignore this entirely. DO NOT HIT SIMULATE YET.
      5. Go to Options>Globals. There are a fairly large number of options here.
      - Version: When the PTR is up and there is a current PTR version of SimC working, you can select between the two, or run a comparison sim of both. This should usually be set to Live.